Quartier Potsdamer Platz
City orientation system

The Pots­damer Platz Quar­ter is one of the most vis­ited places in Berlin. Up to 100,000 peo­ple come here daily to ex­pe­ri­ence the unique mix of shop­ping, en­ter­tain­ment and cos­mopoli­tan flair – many of them are tourists, for whom ori­en­ta­tion around the 68,000 m2 space, in­clud­ing un­der­ground car parks, plays a ma­jor role. Moni­teurs won the com­pe­ti­tion to de­sign the ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem with a for­mal and the­matic con­cept: the ra­dial pro­file of the signs is de­rived from the ty­pog­ra­phy of the neigh­bour­hood it­self. All three un­der­ground car parks were given clear des­ig­na­tions and a colour-coded re­struc­tur­ing, which also served to lighten the at­mos­phere of the spaces. Above ground and un­der­ground ori­en­ta­tion sys­tems now seam­lessly over­lap and the graph­ics and con­tent are in­ter­linked.

Pots­damer Platz Quar­ter

Pedes­trian and Car Park Ori­en­ta­tion Sys­tem
Ex­te­rior
Un­der­ground car park sig­nage

Berlin 2013

Client

PPMG Pots­damer Platz Man­age­ment GmbH

Ar­chi­tec­ture

Arata Isozaki
Christoph Kohlbecker
Prof. Hans Koll­hoff
Ul­rike und Wol­fram Wöhr
José Rafael Mo­neo
Renzo Pi­ano
Richard Rogers

Area

68,000 m2
19 build­ings, 10 streets
2 car parks, 3 un­der­ground car parks

Pho­tos

Ste­fan Schilling

Awards

Iconic Awards 2013
Com­mu­ni­ca­tion – Sign­post­ing Sys­tem

Photo Ste­fan Schilling

Photo Ste­fan Schilling

Photo Ste­fan Schilling

In keep­ing with the over­all de­sign con­cept, a new pic­togram fam­ily was de­vel­oped. An­gled cor­ners and bright colours em­pha­sise the fresh, tech­noid im­pres­sion adopted by many of the build­ings at Pots­damer Platz.

Photo Ste­fan Schilling

Photo Ste­fan Schilling

The un­der­ground car parks were given self-ex­plana­tory names like “Shop­ping”, “Cin­ema/​Ho­tel” and “The­atre”. They re­fer to the places di­rectly above the car parks.

Most peo­ple visit the quar­ter from the north. From fre­quency counts and other mea­sure­ments, sur­veys and ob­ser­va­tions, it is pos­si­ble to draw con­clu­sions about the ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem for the area. These con­clu­sions af­fect the de­sign and con­tent of the con­cept, i.e. how vis­i­tors and cus­tomers are guided by the po­si­tion­ing and place­ment of in­for­ma­tion car­ri­ers, as well as the type and amount of in­for­ma­tion.

Quartier Potsdamer Platz
Stadtleitsystem

Das Quar­tier Pots­da­mer Platz ge­hört zu den meist­be­such­ten Or­ten Ber­lins. Täg­lich kom­men bis zu 100.000 Men­schen hier­her, um die ein­zig­ar­ti­ge Mi­schung aus Shop­ping, En­ter­tain­ment und Welt­stadt­flair zu er­le­ben – un­ter ih­nen vie­le Tou­ris­ten, für die die Ori­en­tie­rung auf dem 68.000 qm gro­ßen Ge­län­de samt Tief­ga­ra­gen eine be­son­ders gro­ße Rol­le spielt. Mo­ni­teurs konn­te den Wett­be­werb für das Leit­sys­tem mit ei­nem for­ma­len und in­halt­li­chen Kon­zept für sich ent­schei­den: Der strah­len­för­mi­ge Quer­schnitt der Schil­der ist aus der To­po­gra­phie des Quar­tiers selbst ab­ge­lei­tet. Alle drei Tief­ga­ra­gen er­hiel­ten ein­deu­ti­ge­re Be­nen­nun­gen und eine farb­li­che Neu­struk­tu­rie­rung, die auch eine at­mo­sphä­ri­sche Auf­wer­tung mit sich brach­te. Ober- und un­ter­ir­di­sches Leit­sys­tem grei­fen nun naht­los in­ein­an­der und sind gra­fisch und in­halt­lich ver­zahnt.

Quar­tier Pots­da­mer Platz

Fuß­gän­ger- und Park­leit­sys­tem
Au­ßen­be­reich
Tief­ga­ra­gen­be­schil­de­rung

Ber­lin 2013

Auf­trag­ge­ber

PPMG Pots­da­mer Platz
Ma­nage­ment GmbH

Ar­chi­tek­tur

Ara­ta Iso­z­aki
Chris­toph Kohl­be­cker
Prof. Hans Koll­hoff
Ul­ri­ke und Wolf­ram Wöhr
José Ra­fa­el Mo­neo
Ren­zo Pia­no
Ri­chard Ro­gers

Flä­che

68.000 qm
19 Ge­bäu­de, 10 Stra­ßen
2 Plät­ze, 3 Tief­ga­ra­gen

Fo­tos

Ste­fan Schil­ling

Aus­zeich­nun­gen

Ico­nic Awards 2013
Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on – Sign­pos­ting sys­tem

Foto Stefan Schilling

Foto Stefan Schilling

Foto Stefan Schilling

Passend zum Gesamtkonzept entwickelte Moniteurs eine eigene Piktogrammfamilie. Abgewinkelte Ecken und leuchtende Farben unterstreichen die frische, technoide Anmutung, die auch vielen Gebäuden am Potsdamer Platz zueigen ist.

Foto Stefan Schilling

Foto Stefan Schilling

Die Tiefgaragen erhielten selbsterklärende Namen wie „Shopping“, „Kino/Hotel“ und „Theater“. So verweisen sie direkt auf die Orte, die oberhalb der Parkgaragen liegen.

Die meisten Menschen besuchen das Quartier von Norden aus. Aus Frequenzzählungen lassen sich ebenso wie aus anderen Messungen, Befragungen und Beobachtungen vor Ort Rückschlüsse für das Leit- und Orientierungssystem ziehen. Sie beeinflussen das inhaltliche und gestalterische Konzept: die Lenkung von Besuchern und Kunden durch die Positionierung von Informationsträgern ebenso wie die Informationstypen und Informationsmengen.