Märkisches Viertel
City Wayfinding

The Märkische Quar­ter in Berlin is a large hous­ing es­tate, al­most 40,000 res­i­dents over a space of 3.2km2, the ori­en­ta­tion of which is dif­fi­cult. Since 2006, Moni­teurs has been work­ing closely with this city dis­trict and has de­vel­oped, un­der con­tract of Gesobau, an ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem for sev­eral groups of apart­ment blocks. In 2013, the dis­trict au­thor­ity of Reinick­endorf held a com­pe­ti­tion to de­velop a new ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem, which Moni­teurs won. Dur­ing the ini­tial phase, Moni­teurs con­sulted closely with the the Berlin of­fice PSY:PLAN, so that the pro­ject would achieve suc­cess both ar­chi­tec­turally and in terms of psy­cho­log­i­cal per­cep­tion.

Märkisches Vier­tel

City­wayfind­ing

Berlin 2016

Client

Bezirk­samt Berlin Reinick­endorf

Area

3,2 km2

Moniteurs developed a concept with high recognition and recall value. The hierarchy of the destination points is achieved through the contrast of regular and bold text, quickly distinguished from each other and where longer and shorter distances, and the time taken to travel them, are easily discernible. With the existing buildings, the basic concept was renewed and expanded, since in the last few years numerous different columns in various colours have been erected for the housing group Gesobau.

One of the radically reduced overview plans with a five minute radius marks not only the destinations of public interest along the street, but also focuses strongly on green spaces, there to increase the attraction and quality of life for residents. The network of paths is further clarified with a highlighted colour — the quarter cut up into small, ascertainable parts.

Moniteurs has individually tailored a variety of pictogrammes to the Märkische Quarter – matching the round shapes of the orientation system and refined typography, to create a contemporary identity.

The overview plan is a central component of the orientation system and is also realised in placard form and located on fittings and the public buildings of the Märkische Quarter.

Märkisches Viertel
Stadtleitsystem

Das Mär­ki­sche Vier­tel in Ber­lin ist eine Groß­raum­sied­lung mit 3,2 Qua­drat­ki­lo­me­tern Grö­ße und na­he­zu 40.000 Be­woh­nern, die Ori­en­tie­rung dort fällt schwer. Be­reits 2006 be­fass­te sich Mo­ni­teurs in­ten­siv mit die­sem Stadt­teil und ent­wi­ckel­te im Auf­trag der Geso­bau ein Leit­sys­tem für meh­re­re Wohn­haus­grup­pen. 2013 lob­te das Be­zirks­amt Ber­lin Rei­ni­cken­dorf ei­nen Wett­be­werb um ein Ori­en­tie­rungs- und Leit­sys­tem aus, den Mo­ni­teurs für sich ent­schei­den konn­te. In der An­fangs­pha­se hat Mo­ni­teurs eng mit dem Ber­li­ner Büro PSY:PLAN zu­sam­men­ge­ar­bei­tet, die das Pro­jekt durch ar­chi­tek­tur- und wahr­neh­mungs­psy­cho­lo­gi­sche For­schung und Be­ra­tung be­glei­tet hat.

Mär­ki­sches Vier­tel

Stadt­leit­sys­tem

Ber­lin 2016

Auf­trag­ge­ber

Be­zirks­amt Ber­lin Rei­ni­cken­dorf

Flä­che

3,2 km2

Moniteurs hat ein Konzept mit hohem Merk- und Wiedererkennungswert entwickelt. Die Hierarchie der Zielpunkte ist durch den Kontrast zwischen Regular- und Bold-Schnitt schnell erfassbar, eine Zeitangabe der übergeordneten Ziele intuitiv wahrnehmbar. Auf Bestehendes aufbauen, erneuern und erweitern war der Grundtenor des Konzepts, da in den letzten paar Jahren eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Stelen in vielen Farben für die Wohnhausgruppen der Gesobau aufgestellt wurden.

Ein aufs Wesentliche reduzierter Übersichtsplan mit 5-Minuten-Radius markiert nicht nur Ziele von öffentlichem Interesse entlang der Autostraßen sondern fokussiert auch stark den Grünraum, um dort die Attraktivität und Aufenthaltsqualität zu erhöhen. Auf neutralen Hintergründen wird durch eine Highlightfarbe das Wegenetze verdeutlicht – das Quartier in kleine, leicht erfassbare Teile zerlegt.

Moniteurs hat eine Vielzahl von individuell auf das Märkische Viertel abgestimmten Piktogrammen entwickelt – passend zu den runden Formen des entwickelten Leitsystems und der gewählten Typografie, um eine zeitgemäße Identität zu schaffen.

Der Übersichtsplan ist zentraler Bestandteil des Leitsystems und wurde auch als Plakat umgesetzt und in Einrichtungen und öffentlichen Gebäuden im Märkischen Viertel verteilt.