Kunsthalle Mannheim
Visitor guidance system

Mannheim has a new art hall. With the new build­ing, gmp Ar­chitek­ten re­al­ized the ar­chi­tec­tural idea of the "city in the city". In anal­ogy to the space-form­ing el­e­ments of the city - house and block, street and square - var­ied tours through closed and open spaces with chang­ing views and views are cre­ated for the vis­i­tors. Moni­teurs was com­mis­sioned for the ana­log and dig­i­tal vis­i­tor guid­ance sys­tem and for the ini­tial graphic equip­ment of the ex­hi­bi­tions in co­op­er­a­tion with Axel Ku­fus / OH Stu­dio, re­spon­si­ble for in­te­rior de­sign. In terms of de­sign, the con­trol sys­tem fits into the ar­chi­tec­ture of the Kun­sthalle, thereby sig­nif­i­cantly sup­port­ing the iden­tity of the build­ing and car­ry­ing it nat­u­rally into the last cor­ner of the build­ing.

Kun­sthalle Mannheim

Vis­i­tor guid­ance sys­tem

Mannheim 2017/​18

Client

Stiftung Kun­sthalle Mannheim

Area

17.366 m²

Pho­tos

Ste­fan Schilling

Based on the architecture, we have developed the decisive design features, big but not too big, easy to read, directly on the wall, not on a support, framed - pure, clear, direct. The architectural grid is adapted to a unit suitable for the wayfinding system and serves as the basis for arrangement and order. This imaginary grid holds the graphic information steady. It can also be found on the facade in the mesh again. The mesh that characterizes the entire building is the first one the visitor sees from the museum. We take the mesh into the museum.

Lev­els are in­di­cated in num­bers for in­ter­na­tional clar­ity.

Di­rec­tion and des­ti­na­tion mark­ings ap­plied di­rectly to the wall with paint stand in de­lib­er­ate con­trast to the framed art. The wayfind­ing sys­tem be­comes one with the ar­chi­tec­ture and in­te­rior de­sign.

Moni­teurs de­signed the dig­i­tal in­ter­faces that show mu­seum vis­i­tors the level overview, cur­rent ex­hi­bi­tions, their lo­ca­tion and cur­rent events. Al­ter­nat­ing in ger­man and eng­lish.

The mono­spaced font used for the sig­nage sys­tem, with uni­form let­ter, char­ac­ter takes up the imag­i­nary grid of the ar­chi­tec­ture. It is there­fore very suit­able for this ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem. Fur­ther­more, it is very easy to read.

The ar­row de­rived from the logo is ground­break­ing.

The pic­tograms de­signed for the Kun­sthalle take on the char­ac­ter of the writ­ing of the guid­ance sys­tem.

Kunsthalle Mannheim
Besucherleitsystem

Mann­heim hat eine neue Kunst­hal­le. gmp Ar­chi­tek­ten ver­wirk­lich­te mit dem Neu­bau die ar­chi­tek­to­ni­sche Idee von der „Stadt in der Stadt“. In Ana­lo­gie zu den raum­bil­den­den Ele­men­ten der Stadt – Haus und Block, Stra­ße und Platz – ent­ste­hen für die Be­su­cher ab­wechs­lungs­rei­che Rund­gän­ge durch ge­schlos­se­ne und of­fe­ne Räu­me mit wech­seln­den Ein- und Aus­bli­cken. Mo­ni­teurs wur­de nach dem Wett­be­werbs­ge­winn für das ana­lo­ge und di­gi­ta­le Be­su­cher­leit­sys­tem und für die gra­fi­sche Erst­aus­stat­tung der Aus­stel­lun­gen in Ko­ope­ra­ti­on mit Axel Ku­fus/​OH Stu­dio, zu­stän­dig für die In­nen­ar­chi­tek­tur, be­auf­tragt. Ge­stal­te­risch fügt sich das Leit­sys­tem in die Ar­chi­tek­tur der Kunst­hal­le ein, da­durch un­ter­stützt es die Iden­ti­tät des Hau­ses we­sent­lich und trägt sie wie selbst­ver­ständ­lich bis in den letz­ten Win­kel des Ge­bäu­des.

Kunst­hal­le Mann­heim

Be­su­cher­leit­sys­tem

Mann­heim 2017/​18

Auf­trag­ge­ber

Stif­tung Kunst­hal­le Mann­heim

Flä­che

17.366 m²

Fo­tos

Ste­fan Schil­ling

Auf der Basis der Architektur haben wir die entscheidenden Gestaltungsmerkmale entwickelt, groß, aber nicht zu groß, gut zu lesen, direkt auf der Wand also nicht auf einem Träger, eingerahmt – pur, klar direkt. Das Architekturraster ist auf eine für das Leitsystem geeignete Maßeinheit angepasst, und dient als Grundlage für Anordnung und Ordnung. Dieses imaginäre Raster gibt der Information den grafischen Halt. Es findet sich auch an der Fassade im Mesh wieder. Das Mesh, das das gesamte Gebäude prägt, ist das erste, das der Besucher vom Museum sieht. Wir nehmen das Mesh ins Museum hinein.

Ebenen werden für eine internationale Verständlichkeit in Ziffern angegeben.

Richtungsweisung und Zielkennzeichnung mit Farbe direkt auf die Wand aufgebracht, steht im bewussten Kontrast zur gerahmten Kunst. Das Leitsystem wird eins mit der Architektur und Inneneinrichtung.

Moniteurs gestaltete die digitalen Oberflächen, die den Museumsbesuchern die Ebenenübersicht, aktuelle Ausstellungen, deren Verortung und aktuelle Events anzeigen. Abwechselnd auf deutsch und englisch.

Der für das Leitsystem genutzte monospaced Font, mit einheitlichen Buchstaben-, Zeichen-, bzw. Leerraumabständen nimmt das imaginäre Raster der Architektur auf. Er eignet sich daher sehr gut für dieses Leitsystem. Desweiteren ist er sehr gut lebar.

Der aus dem Logo abgeleitete Pfeil ist wegweisend.

Die für die Kunsthalle entworfenen Piktogramme, nehmen den Charakter der Schrift des Leitsystems auf.