Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg
Orientation System Terminal

The Berlin Bran­den­burg Air­port is one of the largest and most com­plex trans­port in­fra­struc­ture pro­jects in Ger­many. The build­ing was de­signed by the renowned ar­chi­tects gmp and JSK In­ter­na­tional. Moni­teurs was al­ready ac­tively in­volved in the pro­ject at the com­pe­ti­tion phase for the com­mu­ni­ca­tions de­sign, and by de­grees was com­mis­sioned to de­sign the ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem for the air­port in­clud­ing its sur­round­ings. A key de­sign fea­ture is the colour red, un­usual for air­ports. This gives clear sig­nals for ori­en­ta­tion, and also har­monises with the ar­chi­tec­ture, with its warm tones of wood and nat­ural stone. At the same time, it is mod­elled on the ap­pear­ance of its home states of Berlin and Bran­den­burg. In many places, the signs are di­rectly em­bed­ded into the ar­chi­tec­tural pan­els – some flow around the cor­ner, and this con­cept is wo­ven into the prod­uct de­sign of the signs out­side the build­ing.

Berlin Bran­den­burg Air­port

Ori­en­ta­tion and Guid­ance Sys­tem, In­te­rior
Pub­lic and re­stricted ar­eas
Ter­mi­nal, car parks

Berlin 2012

Client

Flughafen Berlin Bran­den­burg GmbH
Pla­nungs­ge­sellschaft BBI, pg­bbi
since 2005

Ar­chi­tec­ture

gmp Ar­chi­tects
von Gerkan, Marg and Part­ners
and J·S·K Ar­chi­tects
HENN Ar­chi­tects (car parks)

Area

280,000 m2 Build­ing

Ca­pac­ity PAX per year

30 Mil­lion

A further element dovetailing the orientation system and the architecture is the lines of the individual graphical elements of the orientation system. Moniteurs adopted the linear structures of the architecture, themselves based upon the coniferous forests of Brandeburg, something which has also inspired some of the modern buildings of Berlin, such as the New National Gallery by Mies van der Rohe. The lines that make up the letters and pictograms produce graded tones, which create a hierarchy among the signs without having to be colourful. In this way, the information is well structured and easily readable. The content structure has been just as clearly configured: the pictogram of the departing aircraft accompanies passengers to security, after which the signs for gates A – D become visible. As the architectural language varies from one part of the building to another, so too does the graphical language of the orientation system. In the North Pier, for example, where the wall fixtures are not made of wood, passenger information is applied directly to the walls. This variety of applications illustrates once more the strength of the clear, integrated design concept.

The architectural patterns were incorporated into the orientation system and refined for the graphics. In this way, the orientation system is optimally integrated into the architecture, as in this example of the wood panel walls.

The architecture is inspired equally by the pine forests of Brandenburg and the modern buildings of Berlin. Horizontally set lines became the fundamental design element for both the architecure and the orientation system.

The ruled lines, particularly on large letters, prevent them from being too bright, and provide the perfect contrast for the backlit signs. Digital printing on foil proved to be the best manufacturing technique: the red glow shines through just as clearly and looks calm. Smaller areas with purely white lettering, on the other hand, are particularly bright and clearly visible. Thus, it is possible to differentiate font size and style using tonal values without the need for multiple colours.

The lines visualise the behaviour of airflow, the force which gives the aircraft its lift.

The concept of using lines in the orientation system continues onto the walls and glass and acts as a safety measure against walking into the glass.

The airport's corporate font connects the digital signs to the orientation system.

Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg
Orientierungssystem Terminal

Der Flug­ha­fen Ber­lin Bran­den­burg ist ei­nes der größ­ten und kom­ple­xes­ten Ver­kehrs­in­fra­struk­tur­pro­jek­te Deutsch­lands. Ge­plant wur­de der Bau von den re­nom­mier­ten Ar­chi­tek­tur­bü­ros gmp Ar­chi­tek­ten und JSK In­ter­na­tio­nal. Mo­ni­teurs wur­de be­reits in der Wett­be­werbs­pha­se für das Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­de­sign mit ein­be­zo­gen. Nach und nach ent­stand dar­aus der Auf­trag, das Leit­sys­tem für den Flug­ha­fen samt Au­ßen­ge­län­de zu ge­stal­ten. Ein we­sent­li­ches Ge­stal­tungs­merk­mal ist die Far­be Rot. Die­se setzt deut­li­che Si­gna­le für die We­ge­füh­rung und har­mo­niert mit den war­men Tö­nen von Holz, Na­tur­stein. Zu­gleich lehnt sie sich an das Er­schei­nungs­bild der Be­trei­ber­län­der Ber­lin und Bran­den­burg an. An vie­len Stel­len sind die Be­schil­de­run­gen un­mit­tel­bar in die Ar­chi­tek­tur­pa­nee­le ein­ge­las­sen – die­ser Ge­dan­ke der auch um die Ecke ge­hen­den Schil­der spinnt sich im Pro­dukt­de­sign der Weg­wei­ser au­ßer­halb des Ge­bäu­des fort.

Flug­ha­fen Ber­lin Bran­den­burg

Leit- und Ori­en­tie­rungs­sys­tem
In­nen­be­reich
Öffent­li­che und nicht öf­fent­li­che Be­rei­che
Ter­mi­nal, Park­häu­ser

Ber­lin 2012

Auf­trag­ge­ber

Flug­ha­fen Ber­lin Bran­den­burg GmbH
Pla­nungs­ge­sell­schaft BBI, pgbbi
seit 2005

Ar­chi­tek­tur

gmp Ar­chi­tek­ten
von Ger­kan, Marg und Part­ner
und J·S·K Ar­chi­tek­ten
HENN Ar­chi­tek­ten (Park­häu­ser)

Flä­che

280.000 qm Ge­bäu­de

Ka­pa­zi­tät PAX pro Jahr

30 Mil­lio­nen

Ein weiteres Element zur Verzahnung von Leitsystem und Architektur ist die Linierung einzelner grafischer Elemente des Leitsystems. Damit greift Moniteurs die linearen Strukturen der Architektur auf, zu denen die Brandenburgischen Nadelwälder ebenso inspirierten wie die modernen Bauten Berlins, etwa die Neue Nationalgalerie Mies van der Rohes. Die Linierung von Buchstaben und Piktogrammen erzeugt abgestufte Tonwerte, welche Hierarchien auf den Schildern ermöglichen, ohne dabei bunt zu werden. So lassen sich die Informationen gut gliedern und leicht erfassbar machen. Ebenso klar wurde die inhaltliche Struktur herausgearbeitet: Während das Abflugpiktogramm den Passagier bis zur Sicherheitskontrolle begleitet, rücken erst danach die Gates A–D in sein Blickfeld. Den Variationen der Architektursprache in den verschiedenen Gebäudeteilen folgend, variiert auch die grafische Sprache des Leitsystems. Im Bereich des Pier Nord etwa, dessen Wandeinbauten nicht in Holz ausgeführt sind, ist die Passagierinformation großflächig direkt auf die Wände aufgebracht. Diese Vielfalt an Anwendungsmöglichkeiten verdeutlicht einmal mehr die Stärke des klaren, ganzheitlichen Gestaltungskonzepts.

Das Architekturraster wurde auf das Leitsystem übertragen und für die Grafik verfeinert. Auf diese Weise wird das Leitsystem optimal in die Architektur integriert, wie z. B. hier in die Holzpaneelwand.

Die Architekten ließen sich ebenso von den Kiefernwäldern Brandenburgs wie von modernen Berliner Bauten inspirieren. Horizontal gesetzte Linien werden zum gestalterischen Grundelement für Architektur und Leitsystem.

Die Linierung besonders großer Buchstaben verhindert eine Überstrahlung – so haben die hinterleuchteten Schilder den optimalen Kontrast. Digitaldruck auf Folie erwies sich als die beste Herstellungstechnik: Das Rot glimmt so nur leicht und wirkt ruhig. Kleinere Bereiche mit rein weißer Beschriftung hingegen leuchten besonders hell und gewinnen an Sichtbarkeit. So wird neben Schriftgröße und -schnitt vor allem über Tonwerte differenziert, ohne mehrfarbig zu werden.

Die Linien visualisieren das Strömungsverhalten der Luft, das Flugzeugen ihren Auftrieb gibt.

Die in der grafischen Gestaltung des Leitsystems genutzte Linierung setzt sich im Durchlaufschutz auch auf Glasscheiben fort.

Die Digitalanzeigen sind analog zum Leitsystem mit der Corporate-Schrift des Flughafens gestaltet.