Deutsches Museum
Wayfinding System

Deutsches Mu­seum is an out­stand­ing lo­ca­tion for im­part­ing sci­en­tific and tech­ni­cal knowl­edge and for a con­struc­tive di­a­logue be­tween sci­ence and so­ci­ety. Es­tab­lished in 1903, it is steeped in tra­di­tion, and with a to­tal ex­hi­bi­tion space of 66,000 sqm, it is one of the largest in the world. Since Oc­to­ber 2015, a part of the ex­hi­bi­tions on the mu­seum is­land have been up­dated and re­designed.

Deutsches Mu­seum

Wayfind­ing in­ter­nal and ex­ter­nal area

Mu­nich 2015–2025

Client

Deutsches Mu­seum

Area

66,000 sqm ex­hi­bi­tion space

Vis­i­tors

1.4 mil­lions per year

Pho­tos

Ste­fan Schilling

Awards

Eu­ro­pean De­sign Awards 2017, bronze
Iconic Awards 2017, Win­ner

Moniteurs’ signage concept for Deutsches Museum helps visualise and communicate the museum’s internal and external building structure and diversity of the collections to visitors of any age and background. Exhibitions are coded using different colors. Some museum areas are depicted using pictograms which are easily understood by everyone.

The museum will undergo separate stages of extensive modernization and restructuring until 2025. The signage concept is planned in parallel to the construction process and must be able to respond to ongoing changes, as the museum will remain open to visitors throughout that time.

Eine um­fan­gre­iche Pik­togram­fam­i­lie führt die Be­sucher durch das Gebäude.

Die Pik­to­gram­me des Leits­sys­tems wer­den auch in der App von flux­gui­de für das Deut­sche Mu­se­um zum Er­kun­den und Zu­sam­men­stel­len von Tou­ren, so­wie zur in­ter­ak­ti­ven Ori­en­tie­rung ver­wen­det.

Deutsches Museum
Orientierungssystem

Das Deut­sche Mu­se­um ist ein her­aus­ra­gen­der Ort für die Ver­mitt­lung von na­tur­wis­sen­schaft­lich-tech­ni­scher Bil­dung und für ei­nen kon­struk­ti­ven Dia­log zwi­schen Wis­sen­schaft und Ge­sell­schaft. 1903 ge­grün­det, ist es ei­nes der tra­di­ti­ons­reichs­ten und mit 66.000 m² Aus­stel­lungs­flä­che größ­ten Wis­sen­schafts- und Tech­nik­mu­se­en der Welt. Seit Ok­to­ber 2015 wird ein Teil der Aus­stel­lun­gen auf der Mu­se­ums­in­sel ak­tua­li­siert und neu ge­stal­tet.

Deut­sches Mu­se­um

Ori­en­tie­rungs- und Leit­sys­tem
In­nen­be­reich und Au­ßen­be­reich

Mün­chen 2015 – 2025

Auf­trag­ge­ber

Deut­sches Mu­se­um

Flä­che

66.000 qm Aus­stel­lungs­flä­che

Be­su­cher

1,4 Mil­lio­nen im Jahr

Fo­tos

Ste­fan Schil­ling

Aus­zeich­nun­gen

Eu­ro­pean De­sign Awards 2017, bron­ze

Das Leitsystem Konzept von Moniteurs für Innen- und Außenbereich des Deutschen Museums sieht vor, dem Besucher die Gebäudestruktur und Sammlungsvielfalt erkennbar zu machen. Ausstellungen werden farbig codiert und Teilbereiche mithilfe von Piktogrammen dargestellt, so dass sie für jeden Menschen verständlich und leicht auffindbar sind.
Das Museum wird in einzelnen Bauabschnitten bis zum Jahr 2025 umgebaut und umfangreich saniert. Die Planung erfolgt parallel zum Baufortschritt der Sanierungsmaßnahmen und muss flexibel auf die unterschiedlichen Gegebenheiten reagieren, da das Museum während der ganzen Zeit geöffnet bleibt.