BMW Group München, FIZ
Orientation system

The FIZ Re­search and In­no­va­tion Cen­tre in Mu­nich is the heart of the world­wide re­search and de­vel­op­ment net­work of the BMW Group. Built in 1986, the area has grown con­sid­er­ably, ex­pand­ing into the sur­round­ing ur­ban space and be­com­ing more com­pact in or­der to pro­vide space for the ap­prox­i­mately 25,000 peo­ple who work there. In 2015, HENN de­vel­oped a mas­ter­plan to of­fer a per­spec­tive up to the year 2050. More trans­par­ent, good com­mu­ni­ca­tion, di­rect routes, and con­nec­tions to the city quar­ters should cre­ate op­ti­mal con­di­tions for the fu­ture, a cre­ative at­mos­phere which favours the in­no­va­tion and in­ter­dis­ci­pli­nary na­ture of the fields – or­gan­ised along a cen­tral axis.

BMW Group München, FIZ

Sig­nage and ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem
Mas­ter con­cept
Out­door and in­door ar­eas

Mu­nich 2015 on­go­ing

Client

BMW Group

Area

800,000 qm

Ar­chi­tect

HENN

Prod­uct de­sign

Moni­teurs with Axel Ku­fus

Users

25,000 em­ploy­ees, vis­i­tors and ser­vice providers 7,000 test ve­hi­cles

Pho­tog­ra­phy

Ste­fan Schilling

Moniteurs emerged from an international competition as an expert team with an orientation concept, which centres this thoroughfare as an important principle of organisation. Orientation plays an increasingly important role in the conception of new offices and workspaces at complex corporate sites. Flexible workplaces and the fast location of colleagues, meeting rooms, laboratories and workshops make matters of mobility ever more relevant. In addition, in relation to the newly developed BMW Group CI, this resulted in an exciting conceptual and design task for Moniteurs, which we worked on with the designer Axel Kufus and the materials expert Klaudia Kruse. The signage master concept, which in particular takes expansion and variability as its themes, is now being implemented. The first building, the newly renovated reception building, has already been planned and built according to the new concept.

The division into sections (Magistralenmeter) serves the purpose of rough orientation and creates a structure that allows all target points to be located in context.

Totems with location plans are at decision points to clarify the crossing points between individual buildings and to offer rough orientation within the plant.

The master concept covers three thematic areas: the structural concept as the fundamental basis for establishing areas and markings, interfaces for mobile wayfinding and the design of the corporate signage for the entire plant. During the conceptual process, several workshops were held with the relevant stakeholders, such as brand communication, safety, facility management, among others. To tailor the new concept to the needs of the users, the content schedule was developed in close cooperation with the BMW Group and edited in an iterative process. The result was captured in an extensive manual, in which the fundamental concepts are explained and the formulated principles shown.

With the renovation of 2016, the new signage system concept was installed in the reception building.

Working together: analogue signage for permanent information, and digital elements for dynamic content, such as events and meetings in the conference zone. The “header element”, with the building number and level, may be placed on the totem or wall signs, and provides information about the current location.

Incidence angle equals reflection angle: the retro-reflective material throws the light back at the same angle as it comes in, unlike conventional surfaces.

On all signage elements, a retro-reflective film forms a high-quality surface creating an interesting light effect. This is particularly noticeable as the user moves around it. The materiality underscores the identity of the BMW Group and creates an association with transport, engineering, safety and sport.

The “corporate signage family” is built modularly. Formats and sizes relate to one another and result in a homogeneous system. The diversity of types and functions enables the system to be applied to vastly different spatial situations, i.e., to transfer it to other locations around the world.

BMW Group München, FIZ
Leit- und Orientierungssystem

Das FIZ For­schungs- und In­no­va­ti­ons­zen­trum in Mün­chen ist das Kern­stück des welt­wei­ten For­schungs- und Ent­wick­lungs­netz­wer­kes der BMW Group. Das 1986 ent­stan­de­ne Are­al ist stark ge­wach­sen, ex­pan­dier­te in den um­lie­gen­den Stadt­raum und wur­de ver­dich­tet, um den rund 25.000 Men­schen, die dort ar­bei­ten Raum zu bie­ten. HENN ent­wi­ckel­te 2015 ei­nen Mas­ter­plan, der eine Per­spek­ti­ve bis in das Jahr 2050 bie­tet. Mehr Trans­pa­renz, gute Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­on, di­rek­te Wege, Ver­bin­dung zu den Stadt­quar­tie­ren soll­ten zu­künf­tig op­ti­ma­le Be­din­gun­gen schaf­fen, eine At­mo­sphä­re kre­ieren, die In­no­va­ti­on und In­ter­dis­zi­pli­na­ri­tät der Fach­ge­bie­te be­güns­tigt – or­ga­ni­siert ent­lang ei­ner zen­tra­len Ach­se.

BMW Group Mün­chen, FIZ

Leit- und Ori­en­tie­rungs­sys­tem
Mas­ter­kon­zept
Au­ßen- und In­nen­be­reich

Mün­chen 2015 on­go­ing

Auf­trag­ge­ber

BMW Group

Flä­che

800.000 qm

Ar­chi­tek­tur

HENN

Pro­dukt­de­sign

Mo­ni­teurs mit Axel Ku­fus

Nut­zer

25.000 Mit­ar­bei­ter, Be­su­cher und Dienst­leis­ter 7.000 Ver­suchs­fahr­zeu­ge

Fo­tos

Ste­fan Schil­ling

Aus einem internationalen Wettbewerb ging Moniteurs als Expertenteam hervor mit einem Orientierungskonzept welches diese Magistrale als wichtiges Ordnungsprinzip in den Mittelpunkt setzt. Die Orientierung spielt eine immer wichtigere Rolle bei der Konzeption von neuen Büro- und Arbeitswelten an komplexen Unternehmensstandorten. Flexible Arbeitsplätze und das schnelle Auffinden von Kolleginnen und Kollegen, Meetingräumen, Laboren und Werkstätten lassen Fragen der Mobilität immer relevanter werden. Auch unter dem Aspekt der gerade neu entwickleten BMW Group CI ergab sich daraus eine spannende Konzeptions- und Gestaltungsaufgabe für Moniteurs, die wir in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Designer Axel Kufus und der Materialexpertin Klaudia Kruse bearbeitet haben. Das Masterkonzept Signage, welches besonders das Wachsen und die Variabilität thematisiert befindet sich nun in der Umsetzung. Ein erstes Gebäude, das neu sanierte Empfangsgebäude wurde bereits nach dem neuen Konzept geplant und gebaut.

Die Ein­tei­lung in Ab­schnit­te (Ma­gis­tra­len­me­ter) dient der Gro­bori­en­tie­rung und schafft eine Struk­tur, die es er­mög­licht, alle Ziel­punk­te im Kon­text zu ver­or­ten.

An Ent­schei­dungs­punk­ten be­fin­den sich Ste­len mit La­ge­plä­nen um die Über­gän­ge zwi­schen den ein­zel­nen Ge­bäu­den zu ver­deut­li­chen und eine Gro­bori­en­tie­rung in­ner­halb des Werks zu bie­ten.

Das Masterkonzept umfasst drei Themenbereiche: Das Strukturkonzept als grundlegende Basis für die Festlegung von Bereichen und Bezeichnungen, Schnittstellen zum Mobile Wayfinding und die Gestaltung des Corporate Signage für das gesamte Werk. Im Konzeptionsprozess fanden mehrere Workshops mit beteiligten Fachbereichen statt wie Brand Communication, Sicherheit, Facility Management, u.a. Um das neue Konzept auf die Bedürfnisse der Nutzer maßzuschneidern wurde der Zielekatalog in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der BMW Group entwickelt und in einem iterativen Prozess abgestimmt. Das Ergebnis wurde in einem umfangreichen Manual festgehalten, welches die Grundgedanken erläutert und die erarbeiteten Prinzipien darstellt.

Mit der Sa­nie­rung 2016 wur­de im Emp­fangs­ge­bäu­de das neue Leit­sys­tem­kon­zept ein­ge­führt.

Im Zu­sam­men­spiel: ana­lo­ges Si­gna­ge für dau­er­haf­te In­for­ma­tio­nen und di­gi­ta­le Ele­men­te für dy­ma­mi­sche In­hal­te, wie bei­spiels­wei­se Events und Mee­tings in der Kon­fe­renz­zo­ne. Das „Kop­f­ele­ment“ mit Ge­bäu­de­num­mer und Ebe­ne kann auf die Ste­len oder Wand­schil­der „auf­ge­setzt“ wer­den und gibt Aus­kunft über den je­wei­li­gen Stand­ort.

Ein­falls­win­kel gleich Aus­falls­win­kel: re­tro­re­flek­tie­ren­des Ma­te­ri­al wirft das Licht im glei­chen Win­kel zu­rück, wie es ein­ge­fal­len ist, an­ders als bei her­kömm­li­chen Ober­flä­chen.

Auf allen Signageelementen schafft eine retroreflektierende Folie eine hochwertige Oberfläche mit einem interessante Lichteffekt. Dieser ist besonders in der Bewegung wahrnehmbar. Die Materialität unterstreicht die Identität der BMW Group und weckt Assoziationen zu Verkehr, Technik, Sicherheit und Sport.

Die „Corporate-Signage-Familie“ ist modular aufgebaut. Formate und Größen beziehen sich aufeinander und ergeben ein in sich homogenes System. Die Vielfalt an Typen und Funktionen ermöglicht es, das System auf ganz unterschiedliche räumliche Situationen anzuwenden, bzw. auch auf andere Standorte weltweit zu übertragen.