Sibylle Schlaich

While study­ing Vi­sual Com­mu­ni­ca­tion at the HfG Uni­ver­sity of De­sign Schwäbisch Gmünd and at the Berlin Uni­ver­sity of the Arts, Siby­ille Schlaich gained ex­pe­ri­ence from Otl Aicher at Ro­tis, from the GGK in Frank­furt am Main and from Henry Steiner in Hong Kong. Af­ter grad­u­at­ing, she worked at MetaDe­sign in Berlin. In 1994 she co-founded Moni­teurs – De­sign of Ana­log and Dig­i­tal Me­dia. Since 2003, to­gether with her part­ners, she has led Moni­teurs GmbH – Com­mu­ni­ca­tion De­sign, with a fo­cus on in­for­ma­tion de­sign and coro­prate de­sign.

Since 2000, she has taught in the fields of Vi­sual Com­mu­ni­ca­tion, In­for­ma­tion De­sign and Ty­pog­ra­phy, among oth­ers, at the FH Biele­feld Uni­ver­sity of Ap­plied Sci­ences, the Uni­ver­sity of Art and De­sign Halle and the Bauhaus Uni­ver­sity in Weimar, and she has been a guest pro­fes­sor at the CDK, the Chi­ne­sisch Deutschen Kun­stakademie (Chi­nese Ger­man Acad­emy of the Arts) in Hangzhou. She has given nu­mer­ous talks both at home and abroad, such as the in­ter­na­tional de­sign con­fer­ence TYPO Berlin, she has spo­ken at the event Cre­ative Morn­ings and at the con­fer­ence Face2­Face. She has also been a jury mem­ber of var­i­ous se­lec­tion pan­els.

Sibylle Schlaich is the co-au­thor of the books 1:1 Ori­en­ta­tion, Sig­nage, Iden­tity , Look Book In­for­ma­tion­de­sign (pub­lished by Bauhaus Uni­ver­sity Weimar) and emo­tional dig­i­tal – A Source­book of Con­tem­po­rary Ty­po­graph­ics (Ver­lag Her­mann Schmidt Mainz), and Erneuer­bare En­ergien nutzen (Us­ing Re­new­able En­ergy) (Werner Ver­lag).

Si­byl­le Schlaich

Wäh­rend des Stu­di­ums der Vi­su­el­len Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­on an der Hoch­schu­le für Ge­stal­tung Schwä­bisch Gmünd und an der Hoch­schu­le der Küns­te in Ber­lin sam­mel­te Si­byl­le Schlaich Er­fah­run­gen bei Otl Ai­cher in Ro­tis, bei der GGK in Frank­furt am Main und bei Hen­ry Stei­ner in Hong­kong. Nach dem Stu­di­um ar­bei­te­te sie bei Me­ta­De­sign in Ber­lin. 1994 war sie Mit­be­grün­de­rin von „Mo­ni­teurs – Ge­stal­tung ana­lo­ger und di­gi­ta­ler Me­di­en“. Seit 2003 lei­tet sie zu­sam­men mit ih­ren Part­ne­rin­nen „Mo­ni­teurs GmbH – Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­de­sign“, mit den Schwer­punk­ten In­for­ma­ti­ons­de­sign und Cor­po­ra­te De­sign.

Seit 2000 ist sie in der Leh­re tä­tig, in den Fä­chern Vi­su­el­le Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­on, In­for­ma­ti­ons­de­sign oder Ty­po­gra­fie un­ter an­de­rem an der Fach­hoch­schu­le Bie­le­feld, an der Hoch­schu­le für Kunst und De­sign Hal­le, an der Bau­haus-Uni­ver­si­tät in Wei­mar und als Gast­pro­fes­so­rin an der CDK, der Chi­ne­sisch Deut­schen Kunst­aka­de­mie in Hang­zhou. Sie hielt zahl­rei­che Vor­trä­ge im In- und Aus­land wie zum Bei­spiel auf der in­ter­na­tio­na­len De­si­gn­kon­fe­renz TYPO Ber­lin, im Rah­men der Ver­an­stal­tungs­rei­he Crea­ti­ve Mornings und auf der Fach­kon­fe­renz Face2­Face. In ver­schie­dens­ten Ju­ry­sit­zun­gen war sie Ju­ry­mit­glied.

Si­byl­le Schlaich ist Mit­au­to­rin der Bü­cher „1:1 – Leit­sys­te­me, Ori­en­tie­rung, Iden­ti­tät“, „Look Book In­for­ma­ti­ons­de­sign“ (Ver­lag der Bau­haus Uni­ver­si­tät Wei­mar), „emo­tio­nal di­gi­tal – Por­traits in­ter­na­tio­na­ler Ty­pede­si­gner und ih­rer Fonts“ (Ver­lag Her­mann Schmidt Mainz) und „Er­neu­er­ba­re En­er­gi­en nut­zen“ (Wer­ner Ver­lag).